For documents in Contributor, you can track changes and accept or reject those alterations individually. Each change is marked in a color (different colors for different users) and/or labeled in a sidebar. By default, tracked changes are visible only in the editor in MadCap Flare or Contributor. Tracked changes that have not yet been accepted are not visible when viewing any output generated from the document. You can preserve tracked changes in PDF and Word output so unaccepted changes will appear in these outputs.
When this feature is enabled, every change to the document—along with the user who performed the change—will be stored in the document’s markup. For example, deleted text won’t actually be removed from the document, but will instead be marked as deleted in the code. However, if the change is accepted, the text will be removed from the document.
When a Flare author sends you a review package file (FLTREV) and you edit the content files within it, your changes are tracked so that the author can easily see the changes you made. You can not disable the track changes feature for these types of documents.
Following are the primary tasks involved with using this feature.
- Enable Track ChangesThis feature is automatically enabled for files you receive from Flare authors. However, you can enable or disable this feature for new documents that you create. See Enabling Track Changes.
- Find Changes You can quickly navigate to the previous or next tracked change or annotation in the file. See Finding Changes.
- Accept or Reject Tracked Changes You can right-click on tracked changes and use a context menu to accept or reject them individually. You can also use options in the interface to accept or reject each tracked change or all tracked changes in a file. The reject option also removes annotations. See Accepting or Rejecting Tracked Changes.
- Change User Color The tracked changes for each user can be shown in a separate color. You also have the option of choosing a specific color for all users. See Changing the User Color for Reviews.
- Change Display You can change the way tracked changes are displayed in the interface (e.g., in balloons, inline). You can also enable or disable change bars. See Changing the Display of Tracked Changes.
- Hide and Show Tracked Changes You can hide or show tracked changes in the active document. See Hiding and Showing Changes and Annotations.
- Change User Name and Initials When you first install and launch Contributor, your login user name is captured and stored in the Options dialog. The first two letters of the user name are also stored as your initials. This information is employed whenever you track changes. For example, if you add some text in a topic with track changes enabled, your initials are displayed at the beginning of the tracked change so that other users know where the edit came from. You can always change your Contributor user name or initials to something else. See Changing Your User Name and Initials.
Note: The track changes feature is intended only for self-contained operations within the XML Editor. For example, if you make changes to index keywords or concepts in the Index and Concept window panes (e.g., renaming, assigning them to topics), those modifications are not indicated as tracked changes because they are considered project-wide "link updating" processes.
Note: The track changes setting is not global in a project (i.e., it does not affect other content files open at that time). For example, let's say you have two topics open. With focus on topic A, you enable the track changes feature. If you bring focus to topic B, the track changes option is not enabled for that topic yet. However, if you then open other topics after that point, the track changes feature will be enabled in those topics.