Unlocking a File—Subversion

If you have locked a file, you should unlock it when you are done modifying it. Other users can modify the file while you have it locked, but they cannot commit a locked file until you unlock the file or unless they steal the lock from you. To help prevent file conflicts and make sure that everyone on your team has the most current version of the file, you should unlock and commit the file when you are finished working on it.

See Locking a File—Subversion for more information on locking files and stealing locks.